newest entry 2002-02-05 12:07 p.m.


"Yoga is the process of de-hypnotism."

--Sri Brahmananda Sarasvati, a.k.a. Rammurti S. Mishra, M.D.


The other day when I was at the library, I noticed something telling: the books about yoga are not shelved in one or two different areas, but rather in several distinct areas of the library. And these books are not wildly different in content, either. Maybe some stress the postures more, and others emphasize scripture or philosophy, but all of them contain information about the yoga system as a whole, and all of them are catalogued differently. To me this illustrates how far-reaching the scope of yoga is.

One book I discovered totally knocked me out. I've been reading one chapter a day like it's coursework: Fundamentals of Yoga by Rammurti S. Mishra, M.D. I've never read a more complete text about principles and practices. Apparently it's out of print, but used copies are floating around the Internet, and of course the Brooklyn library system, as soon as I return it.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com