newest entry 2002-03-21 12:11 p.m.


I had another strange encounter with the Mitzvah Tanks today.

I'd gone to the Central Library to drop off some books (and pick up another Ayelet Waldman novel). When I came out, a whole squadron of their camper-vans were circling the Soldiers and Sailors Arch on Grand Army Plaza, blocking traffic in every direction. About five police cars were in the stew, too, their lights flashing, and a couple of helicopters flew overhead. There was a general feeling of honking, yelling mayhem, and once again I beheld the Mitzvah Tanks with trepidation. I'm telling you there's something about them that makes me nervous. Why "tanks"? Why back up traffic? Why the helicopters? What goes on here?

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com