newest entry 2002-02-23 11:58 p.m.


Miss Cookie's baby shower went off without a hitch. It was cozy and well-attended, and she was, indeed, showered with many great gifts. And completely surprised!

It was fun driving to and from the shower with Nan #1 and Nan #2--both friends of my sister's who have become friends of mine, too, through the years. (Nan #2 is dating a guy in Monkey's band, due in part to my schemin'.)

The shower was held at my brother-in-law's sister's house. His family are warm and family-oriented, but clannish. His sisters are the unfriendliest women I have ever been forced into a social contract with. I let a stupid remark from one of them get me a little upset, and Monkey had to remind me, "She's difficult. That's clear to everyone. Don't take it personally."

It's not so much that I take things personally, it's that when someone says or does something insensitive, I become paranoid that my feeling irked is somehow invalid. So I go over and over an incident in my mind, thinking, "Is it OK to feel angry about this? Am I crazy?" I'd rather err on the side of being too introspective sometimes, because burying feelings doesn't usually work out well for me in the end...


After returning to Brooklyn and dropping off the Nans, AMA and I had a nice dinner in the Slope and then I whimsically bought a book at B&N.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com