newest entry 2002-01-28 12:11 p.m.


archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

I'm rarely in the mood for Coney Island, but yesterday it hit the spot, dead-on. Monkey and I drove out there (we're only about 15 minutes away--there are some advantages to living in Outer Ongoolia!) and went for a long run on the beach in this amazing thaw. Glorious! Sparkling ocean, radiant sun. The decrepitude of the neighborhood, on that hopeful spring-like day, seemed more poignant than depressing.

We pulled into an abandoned lot and Monkey began teaching me how to drive a standard. Apparently I'm a brilliant clutch-wrangler, but the task of learning how to drive with stick shift seems daunting.

We shared a ceremonial Nathan's hot dog and then went home to change and shower and get dressed for our big Red Lobster date in Queens. No, we're not sure why, either. I just had a wild hair up my craw to go to Red Lobster--some deep primordial need to eat moderately-priced seafood in a comforting atmosphere.

I attempted to watch the Hallmark movie about the woman with schizo-affective disorder and her sister, figuring it would shed some light on my own situation (I have a sister who is schizophrenic, in addition to being learning-disabled, and she is just about able to look out for herself) but it was too depressing, and all the commercials were for Hallmark cards, and they all made me cry.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry