newest entry 2001-11-28 5:11 p.m.


All that you are attached to, all that you Love,
all that you know, someday will be gone.
Knowing this, and that the world is your mind
which you create, play in, and suffer from,
is known as discrimination.
Discriminate between the real and the unreal.


--Papaji

Went to the New-York Historical Society to see New York September 11 by the Magnum Photographers. The photographs are harrowing, moving and beautiful. The small exhibit is dominated by compelling video footage of the disaster.

The video captures the confused calm of Liberty Plaza as the first tower burns. People in this segment of the video are concerned, alarmed even, but not sure what's really happening. Traffic is being directed and redirected, but people are still milling about in a relatively serene manner, talking. (The video has no soundtrack).

We see people evacuating the towers in an orderly manner, riding up the escalators by the Tourneau shop...

We see the fire commissioner and other grave but still calm officials conferring in a huddle.

Out on the street, we see one handsome and serious man talking to the camera, the burning tower above him, when suddenly: WHAM! The second tower gets hit. The man jumps, the camera jumps, we all jump. This is it.


I took an Integral class today...I really needed a peaceful experience, and it was.


I started reading I, Claudius on the subway today, but I also discovered a heap of paperbacks that one of my neighbors was tossing: Foucault, Musil, Wharton. So we'll just see who captures my heart! I haven't given up on The Corrections, I just had to give it back to the library and couldn't renew it cuz it had so many requests. Maybe I'll try again when it comes out in paperback.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com