newest entry 2002-01-08 10:54 a.m.


Yesterday I had my first free "personal training session" at my beloved gym (you get two with your membership).

The session consisted of this little mean woman taking me around and showing me how to use all those mysterious devices with pulleys and cables and whatnot. She devised an off-the-rack, 5-day-a-week scheme for the betterment of my corporeal form, the success of which depends on how comfortable I can get working out alongside those big, beefy...(the word "lunkheads" wants to spring out here, will I let it?)...gym guys.

Working with free weights and machines feels like a regression, fitrness-wise. I think vinyasa and Bikram yoga are much healthier, more compassionate ways to get strong, and the cardio stuff (the ability to run freely in any kind of weather, at odd hours of the day and night) is really all I want from the gym. I'll give this a try for a few weeks and see how it feels, though.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com