newest entry 2001-08-12 6:06 p.m.


Drizzly Sunday

"If everyone who died with unpunished sins on his conscience came back as a ghost, the living would be crowded out of every home in England."

"You're cynical. I thought you would be. Can you sneer?"

"With terrifying effect."

"Oh, do it please! I want to see it!"

"I'm afraid you're much too young to withstand it. I should be accused of stunting your growth--perhaps even sending you into decline."

"I wouldn't go into decline--I'm robust. My governess says so."

The above is from Kate Ross's Cut to the Quick which AMA finally got a hold of on Friday. Joy! The first Julian Kestrel mystery. I've been laying about reading it all afternoon.

Earlier today AMA and I went in for our final brunch with the out-o-towners. We had a delightful meal at Chelsea Market, consisting of cappucino from Buon Italia and various breakfast-y items from Amy's Bread. Then we saw Thomas in Love, the new film from Pierre-Paul Renders. Amusing--some very plausible concepts about life in the near future, mostly in the houseware and hairstyle departments. As for love and agoraphobia--those stay just about as aggravating as they are today. A life in front of the computer with no human contact....why does that sound so tasty to me just now...?

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com