newest entry 2001-12-21 2:24 p.m.


After a night of restful sleep and lucid dreams AMA and I both woke up at about 4:30 AM. We couldn't get back to sleep , and ended up watching episode 21 of the Sopranos on DVD (we've been renting Season 2 volume by volume over the past week).

This episode tips the scales in the direction of my despising every character. The last two hold-outs of my viewer affection were Carmela and Adriana, but in this episode they both reveal themselves to be acquisitive, selfish cretins. I am getting a little sick of this show --the characters are so relentlessly evil and petty. I loved watching the first season because it provided some insight into the mafia mindset, and I cared about the characters, but now it's like "Basta! I get it!"


Taught a sleepy but happy class this morning, and was gifted, by one of my regular students, with a lovely scented neck pillow, which I was just coveting last night.

I dawdled around Park Slope for a bit, bought the latest Burning Airlines CD used at Holy Cow, and so far am enjoying it. Nary a melodic hook to be found, but the guys are excellent players, and there's a lot of interesting rhythmic stuff going on, which in my book is almost as good as hooks. Big loud guitars, too. I never listened much to Jawbox, so I have no sentimental barriers to enjoying J. Robbins' current band.


I feel purty darn peaceful this week. Still hibernating socially, and still a bit anxious about money, but I think a 5-day yoga vacation will quiet my anxiety considerably. The Spirit is always there, it's just that it gets obscured.

The mind of the truly illumined person is calm--not because he is selfishly indifferent to the needs of others, but because he knows the pece of the Atman within all thngs, even within the appearance of misery, disease, strife and want.

--Swami Prabhavananda & Christopher Isherwood The Yoga Aphorisms of Patanjali

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com