newest entry 2003-08-24 9:18 a.m.


Guess who's here? Bubba, our former dog-next-door! We're sitting Coney's ol' pal for the day, and it's just like old times--they are play-fighting in the back and running through the house wreaking havoc.

Today's all about preparing the wedding ceremony that I'm performing in September. I got three books out of the library about weddings (along with Michael Frayn's The Trick of It, just for entertainment purposes), and will cobble something together by my 6:00 meeting with the couple.

Saw Freaky Friday last night...was the only adult unaccompanied by a kid. I had to see it--Mary Rodgers' book was one of my favorites as a child, and I had to see for myself if this version was any better than the silly Jodie Foster/Barbara Harris debacle of the 70s.

Not surprisingly, the intelligent and droll tone of the book, along with major characters and 90% of the plot, are completely gone. There is actually nothing in the movie resembling the original book at all. I guess they just needed a familiar name to get nostalgic Gen Xers to bring their kids.

That said, it was a cute flick, with some good yuks, mostly from Jamie Lee Curtis's performance. The soundtrack is perfunctory, with that highly compressed bubblegum punk that only exists in the movies.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com