newest entry 2003-08-17 2:47 p.m.


Nightmarish memories of the Celine Dion show are in constant rotation in my mind today:...an image of her sitting in a chair surrounded by writhing male dancers pretending to be hot for her...Celine mincing around on stage gawkily while singing a Stevie Wonder song...Celine beating her chest with her fist to convey passion in Overwrought Ballad #378...Celine pretending to be overcome with gratitude at the applause...ugh.

I'm not sure if I mentioned this, but we're here to celebrate Monkey's stepmom's 60th birthday--she treated everyone to Vegas, Celine and Cirque du Soleil, and a series of excellent meals.

I am still having fun, but I don't think anyone but a serious gambler or millionaire playboy could spend more than 2 days here without losing their mind. Everthing is geared towards spending money. There are few activities that don't require forking over lots of dough, even just buying a small bottle o' water.

I do like the idea of traipsing, dream-like, from one fantasy theme world to the next: New York, Paris, Venice, Egypt, Pirates, Circus, Jungle...We took a gondola ride in "Venice" and had a bagel in "New York" and gawked at white tigers in the "jungle"...La la la.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com