newest entry 2003-08-06 12:21 p.m.


When I first got certified to teach, I had a dream of billing myself as a yoga teacher for punks and ne'er-do-wells. I just wanted to reach out to people who may have thrown the baby (yoga) out with the bathwater (new age goofiness, or "beautiful people" trendiness).

Then I realized that whoever needed my style of teaching would find me, and that labelling myself might end up limiting me, or worse, come off as gimmick-y.

Apparently, the people behind the Dharma Punx and Hardcore Zen books exercised no such restraint.

I should withhold my criticism til I actually read the books, I guess, but the publicity surrounding them does not augur well for the content within.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com