newest entry 2003-07-11 11:28 a.m.


Yesterday afternoon my work-pal ArtSchool told me to join Friendster. As if I didn't already have enough distractions at work!

This morning I checked and I now belong to a personal network of 10,000 people. I suppose I'll never be lonely again.

And speaking of friends, here's the Friday Five!

1. Do you remember your first best friend? Who was it?

Lori Evans. She lived up the street when I was about 4, we were best buds through kindergarten, and then she moved away. She probably moved a few towns over, but at that age, if you don't go to the same school, two towns over is Siberia.

She lived with her single mom, who smoked, and her grouchy grandparents. Her life was exotic to me--no siblings! A mom who smokes and swears! Grandparents who she got to see all the time, even though they were grouchy!

I remember really loving Lori, envying her freedom, coveting her cool, trendy toys and also feeling frustrated by her selfishness. She always wanted to go first, never wanted to share--it drove me crazy. Anyone who thinks that childhood friendships are simple and innocent are mis-remembering--my relationship with Lori was as multihued as any that I have today, but without the benefit of having a vocabulary to describe it.

2. Are you still in touch with this person?

Nope.

3. Do you have a current close friend?

Monkey J. Monkerton. My sister Cookie. I am also close with several old boyfriends.

4. How did you become friends with this person?

I married him; I was born into her family; I dated them and although in each case the break-ups were tragic and awful we managed to become friends afterwards.

5. Is there a friend from your past that you wish you were still in contact with? Why?

Of all the friends I've lost touch with, the one who I am most curious about is my childhood friend A.B.N. We were good friends all through the lower grades, less-good friends through middle school, and then nodding acquaintances through high school. But I am so curious how she turned out. She was always bookish and smart and sensitive, and had pretty good taste in music for someone from my home town. We were both loners, which precluded being close, I guess, but which made us respect each other. I'm sure she's doing something positive and creative for the world.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com