newest entry 2003-06-16 9:55 a.m.


Two really nice things happened yesterday: first, Monkey accompanied me to a yoga class. He didn't volunteer to go, but neither did I have to twist his arm. And it turned out to be an excellent class--one of the best I've experienced in months. It was made all the better by his presence.

The teacher put the emphasis on experiencing sensation, not running away from what's happening and what you're feeling. Knowing yourself in order to, ultimately, make yourself transparent and experience the world directly.

I needed to remember this lesson because I had a show (nice thing #2) last night, and one of the things I'm trying to learn is how to feel the music and the sensations of singing and playing, rather than zoning out from nervousness or shyness or lack of confidence.

Also, I'm learning how not to judge myself so harshly. It's music--it's communal, it's fun, it's a positive force. It doesn't have to be perfect. I can hit some vocal clams, or screw up on guitar, or look a little scruffy, and its still okey-dokey.

Monkey also played a set last night, and I really enjoyed it. He has a deadpan delivery and laidback style that reminds me of Paul Simon waking up from a nap.

Ack, must go--much work to do today.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com