newest entry 2003-04-07 4:05 p.m.


This is a special mid-afternoon post brought to you by Mojo magazine, which I read on the train back to the office after I went home to let the dogwalker in (she'd locked Coney and herself out of the house in the snow!)

Anyway, I was surprised to see that Chris Difford has a newish solo album out! How exciting!! I was not crazy about Glenn Tilbrook's solo record from 1.5 years ago, but I always thought Difford was the more adventuresome writer...what I have based this opinion on, I don't know!

I also have to mention that I've been reviewing a lot of New Age CDs for work, and there are so many stinky, corny ones that when you find one that's good it's cause for celebration. So I'm here to tell you that the Krishna Das CD that came out last year, Breath of the Heart, is beautiful. As overproduced as his big hit album Pilgrim Heart was, this one is sincere and humble and almost lo-fi.

Another good one is Russill Paul's A.M. Yoga Chants. It's basically Indian classical music spiced up with a glossy production and some almost pop-like chanting.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com