newest entry 2003-02-05 10:46 p.m.


Closing their eyes, steadying their breathing, and focusing their attention on the center of spiritual consciousness, the wise master their senses, mind, and intellect through meditation. Self-realization is their only goal.

--Bhagavad Gita 5:27-29


I went to the gym tonight after work. It had been so long since I'd gone, that the sensory input elicited a nostalgic response in me. The smell of the hardwood floor in the drafty yoga room almost made me weepy.

I hate going to the gym, it takes enormous effort to get myself there lately, and yet once I'm there, I usually feel better for having gone.


I haven't been paid in six weeks due to a series of errors made by the finance department. I've had to make several phone calls and write a bunch of memos to the home office in SF and the mothership office in Pittsburgh in order to get anyone to address the situation. I am extremely upbeat and use all the professional jargon like, "Going forward..." and "I'm confident that a solution can be reached!" and all that, but truth be told I've been seething all week, with a huge cloud over my head. The implicit message I keep getting from these people, over and over, is "Why should we care that you haven't gotten paid, even if it was our fault?" In the grand scheme of man's inhumanity to man, this is small potatoes, but I am still dismayed by that attitude.

Anyway, the check, finally, is supposedly in the mail.

Tomorrow my mother-in-law comes to visit for four days. It's not as bad as it sounds, we usually have a nice time.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com