newest entry 2002-11-16 9:12 a.m.


Leave the mind in its natural, undisturbed state. Don't follow thoughts of "This is a problem, that is a problem!" Without labeling difficulties as problems, leave your mind in its natural state. In this way, you will stop seeing miserable conditions as problems.

--Lama Zopa Rinpoche


One of the greatest inventions of the last century (right up there with this and this) is the Coinstar machine. Every couple of months for the last several years I've taken my change-bucket to the nearest Coinstar and purged myself of the latest harvest of nickels, dimes and pennies. A typical yield is about $60.00.

Now that Monkey is in on the action, we usually have a little wager about the exact amount in the change bucket. Whoever's closer without going over wins.

This story isn't leading up to anything, it's not a metaphor, it is my life. I love the feeling of pushing the coins into the slot, the rainforest sound of them dropping, the dopey little remarks on the screen ("my you have a lot of coins!"), and then the satisfying pay-out which is generally used on groceries.


Meanwhile, I am all a-wuzzle cuz I just finished a song that will be the cornerstone of my next album--lyrically, it launches the main theme of the record, which is that shaky trip from disbelief to faith. I know it sounds totally gay, but it'll be good.


In gorilla masturbation news (let's see how many Google hits this page'll get now) here's an exciting story.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com