newest entry 2002-10-09 9:47 a.m.


My father was never very responsive to music, he could take it or leave it. But one time, back in the day, we were driving around in the big ol� family station wagon on a Sunday drive, all the kids in their respective places (which meant Cookie and I were in the �way back�), and �Bridge Over Troubled Water� (this was a few years after its chart presence, but not long after�I am ancient) came on the radio. He turned it way up and got kind of quiet (he�s not a quiet guy) and afterwards said, �Kids, Paul Simon is a genius. For that song alone, he should be�revered.� I had never heard the word �revered� before, but I got the meaning by his tone of voice.

Today I was on hold with the IT department, and the Muzak version of �Solsbury Hill� came on. It filled my heart with joy. Kids�that Peter Gabriel is a genius. For that song alone, he should be revered.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com