newest entry 2002-07-31 3:43 p.m.


Where did July go? Where, oh, where?

Work has become interesting now that I�m re-learning PageMaker. It�s a jaunty li�l program, and it�s improved a bit since I last used it (way back in �93 during my brief career as a magazine editor).


In addition to reading Camille (which I have only been able to get to infrequently), I picked up a used copy of The Dark Side of the Light Chasers yesterday. No, it�s not a science fiction novel, it�s more of a self-improvement thang, about expressing the shadowy qualities you�ve repressed over the years in order to be more whole. I have come to despise self-help books, but this one at least raises some neat issues and isn�t all, �be positive, dammit!� In fact, it�s more about feeling comfortable with all the things that make you such a jerk.

I also found a used paperback of Jayne Anne Phillips� Black Tickets, which I intend to read after Camille. J.P. is the author of the single greatest short story of our time, �How Micky Made It� which I read in Rolling Stone magazine when I was in middle school. It is the short story that made me want to write short stories and read more of them. I wish I could find a copy of it and see if it holds up after all these years. Maybe it�s better if I didn�t.


In caffeinated beverage news, I have discovered green tea. It's not that it tastes good, but it tastes like goodness.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com