newest entry 2002-07-23 4:57 p.m.


"A musician must make music, an artist must paint, a poet must write, if he is to be ultimately at peace with himself.

--Abraham Maslow

So there ya go, folks--go make some art today.


A while back I read an interview with David Bazan of Pedro the Lion, wherein he talks about his religion a little--he identifies himself as a Christian. Christians are so few and far between in the indie rock world, and the complexity inherent in that world view intrigues me.

(I personally have tried to write songs about my faith, and it's tough to do w/o sounding New Agey or goofy...but when it's done right, it's such a beautiful thang).

I couldn't find their latest record, but I picked up Winners Never Quit, and it's enjoyable. It suffers a little from the emo dynamic--the production is pretty boxy and not big on color--but there are a couple of things that make it sparkle for me: some nice melodies, particularly the first song, "Slow And Steady Wins The Race". And the fact of its being an old-fashioned concept album, with a storyline (presumably about a politician who flips his wig...I dunno, I have to go back and listen some more).

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com