newest entry 2002-07-06 7:52 a.m.


To see the Suchness of things, which is their empty calm being, is to see them just as they are. It is in this way that perfect wisdom and the material world are not two, they are not divided.

---Ashtasahasrika


Friends, sometimes happiness is simply waking up and realizing that it's not going to be 100 degrees in the shade. I was in such a contented humor all day yesterday, physically relieved at the early-fall-like temperatures and cool breeze.

I had only gotten 3 hours of sleep the night before due to dogs barking, cherry bombs explodin' and excessive heat with no good ventilation. So waking up to normal weather was a real gift.

I taught my two classes, put in a few hours at my new job (Fridays there are great--my boss works from home and almost no one else is around so I can work in peace, uninterrupted) and then went to see Lovely and Amazing which was such a balm for my soul.

I'd never seen Nicole Holofcener's other feature, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but I didn't expect to be blown away as much as I was. The movie just hit home so many scenes in a row it made my heart ache: the scene where Catherine Keener gets a job at the FotoMat, almost to spite the world and her husband, but also in a twisted bid at self-esteem. Or when she runs into her old friend who's now a pediatrician...Or the scene at McDonald's--who else knows the secret shame and joy of spotting a McDonald's and asking the cab driver to "Let me out here." It's also just really funny.

There aren't a lot of movies that show what relationships between sisters (and women in general) are really like, and this was so accurate--the love, the envy and jealousy, the11th-hour support, the crankiness.

Afterwards, my movie companions Fred, Nan and Stan and I went to O'Connors and downed a few. Spike the bartender wasn't there, but his most excellent jukebox stood in his stead. I had a great time hanging with the kids, they are lively and fun and uncynical people.

Yes, yesterday was a good, basic-needs-met sort of day. Today promises to be the same.


previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com