newest entry 2002-06-23 8:29 a.m.


So are we to believe these boasts or shrug them off? We give these guys too much credit.


After my 4:00 class yesterday, Monkey and JoyBoy joined me at the 12th Street Block Party in the Slope, where Les Sans Culottes were playing. It's been a few years since I've seen these faux French rockers, and I was pleasantly surprised. The last time I saw them, I remember thinking, "OK...this is funny..." but by the fourth song, I didn't think it was funny anymore, and they didn't really have the musical chops to make it anything more than a skit. Since then they've gotten it together: the songs (bouncy pop/punk with some "ye ye" thrown in) and the playing were good enough to support a whole set.

After that we went to a bar-b-que at a bed-n-breakfast in Carroll Gardens. The highlight of the party for me was meeting one of the guest's Cockapoo, Noodles. Now there's a terrific breed: combining the devastating cuteness of a cocker spaniel with the positive personality traits of the poodle.


We were awakened in the middle of the night by a domestic disturbance up the street. I peered out from the relative safety of my bedroom window trying to read the confusing scene unfolding a few doors up. I'm still not sure exactly what happened, but no less than three cop cars responded to the episode.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com