newest entry 2002-06-12 8:54 a.m.


Yoga aids us in finding the least guarded points in our imprisoning envelope, the levels at which contacts with other worlds can be easily made, and the most rapid methods for attaining freedom

--Alain Danielou, Yoga, Mastering the Secrets of Matter and the Universe

The quote above is from a book I found in the library. It is an old-skool yoga book of the mystical variety, and I love it. When I read stuff like this, I want to run away from home and join the circus. This isn't some neo-yogi flattering Oprah viewers about having it all, this is "you must renounce everything!" I love me some renunciatin'!

The class I taught last night was pretty uninspired (and sluggish, given the muggy weather), but if I can offer a boring but adequate class and still keep some equanimity, I count that as a small victory of grace over ego.

My computer is making rumbling about-to-explode noises, so I'd better sign off.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com