newest entry 2002-06-11 12:32 p.m.


A poor devotee points to the sky and says, "God is up there." An average devotee says, "God dwells in the heart as the Inner Master." The best devotee says, "God alone is, and everything I perceive is a form of God."

--Ramakrishna

Well, I'm not in the "best devotee" ranks yet, but I'm trying.


Today I tried something new in my job search. I picked myself up and carried myself to a neighborhood I like that's within walking distance of here, and just pounded the sidewalk, looking for "help wanted" signs...like a high school kid on summer break, or a grandma looking to earn Schnappes money. (This is part of my quest for a part-time job to help supplement the teaching thing, not a big career move).

I figure I'd let my body find a job rather than let my mind find one--just step right into a job. "Hello, how may I help you?"

Of course, many of the places that had "help wanted" signs were objectionable for one reason or another, and so my carcasss said, "No" to those jobs.

Meanwhile, my PR Plan for the local business went over well, so that could be another avenue of income if I end up helping them with their publicity.


In film news, every time I see trailers or ads for the new Scooby Doo movie, Shaggy reminds me, disturbingly, of the young Sarah Polley when she starred in the Ramona series. And that drives me nuts.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com