newest entry 2002-05-26 10:28 p.m.


Saw The Last Waltz tonight.

The highlights for me were Van Morrison's "Caravan"...The Staple Singers on "The Weight"...and "The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down." I have never been too deeply into The Band, but I appreciate where they're coming from...very uplifting and sad and more steeped in gospel music than I remember. I was pleasantly surprised by Joni Mitchell's "Coyote".

What impresses me about the film is the sense of drama--there is an almost religious sense of celebration throughout, and a real sadness as the party ends.

Who knew that Robbie Robertson was such a rock star? I suspect that the stoned-looking bearded fellow that was always hovering just off camera was his scarf-wrangler.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com