newest entry 2002-05-11 8:35 p.m.


When the breath wanders the mind also is unsteady. But when the breath is calmed the mind too will be still, and the yogi achieves long life. Therefore, one should learn to control the breath.

--Hatha Yoga Pradipika


A good day.

Took a class, for a change of pace, at Om. It was a basics class, and to be honest it was a little dull, but I liked the way the teacher explainedkapalabhati.

Taught my class, and then had a teacher's meeting, wherein we did some partner yoga and some sharey-carey kinds of things. I was resisting all of it but the experience of it still warmed me. We did a talking/listening activity: one person just babbles whatever's on his or her mind for 7 minutes and the other person listens actively but doesn't respond...then you switch positions.

Just listening to my partner chatter about his day made my heart fly open. I can't explain it--I just felt so much love for this kid talking about his day. None of his words really mattered, all I could feel was his presence.


Stoop sale finds of the day: Red House Painters' Songs for a Blue Guitar and Walt Whitman's Leaves of Grass.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com