newest entry 2002-04-27 10:37 p.m.


I took a free Prana Yoga class today (very relaxing), then taught my class, and then stayed for a chanting get-together at my yoga center.

We sat in a circle, and each took turns lighting a candle in the center of the circle (fire! magic!) . Then we "ommmm"-ed for 45 minutes. If you've never experienced such a thing, get a few friends together and try it. It is music at its purest and most celebratory. About 20 minutes into it I just stopped and listened, and all kinds of poignant memories came up to be dealt with. I walked all the way home lump-throated but also blown wide open emotionally. Then I went to KFC.


It's stoop sale season! I got four cassettes today for a dollar:

  • Lene Lovich's March

  • Eagle-Eye Cherry's Desireless (just cuz he has a cool name, and I like Nenah Cherry)

  • An album of Hildegard von Bingen's music set, horrifyingly, to a dance beat.

  • Great American Spirituals, vol. 9

    previous entry

    next entry

    latest entry

    archive

    write to me

    hosted by DiaryLand.com


    powered by SignMyGuestbook.com