newest entry 2001-11-14 8:56 p.m.


At 6:30 AM on Tuesday morning, I finished my book. Hold your applause, Diary, cuz there is still work to do (photos, appendices) and I won't feel done til my editor has actually seen it and commented. But the hardest part is over, and I feel great.

What a neat experience this has been. The last bit of writing I did for the book was transcribing some interviews I'd had with various yoga luminaries. I played back a conversation I'd had with Shiva Rea, and I felt this elusive feeling of humbled, inspired and worthy. Her lovely Santa Monica drawl intoning words of wisdom and practical advice, in such a casual way like we were old friends.

And that's what's cool about yoga--the deeper you get into it, the more you get over yourself, so the yoga "celebrities" (with a few exceptions) are more accessible, kinder, more forthcoming than the usual famous (or semi-famous...or non-famous for that matter) people. Every person I interviewed was interested in the book and extended offers of help should I need it in the publishing process.

After that I slept for a couple of hours and then had the best Bikram class yet. It was a male teacher with the personality of Tony Robbins. He praised and complimented people vigorously, singling people out for kudos and suggestions. He was a really high energy sort. On paper that sounds scary, I know, but in reality he was sincere. I don't know if it was entirely because of his motivation, but dang, I did great, and I walked out of there feeling like a million bucks.

Such simple psychology--make people feel like they're good at something, and they either will be or they will at least try. I hope to have this teacher again, but the schedule there rotates constantly. I seem to always show up on the same day as a certain teacher who, for some reason, never does any of that stuff: the praise, the attention. At least not for me, and I'm not sure why. (Waah.)

After class I had lunch with JoyBoy and he showed me the garden at the lower level of the Promenade. Two plots of daffodils are going to be planted in rectangles, a la the Twin Towers. It's just soil now, I believe the plantig starts this weekend, but even just those rectangles of earth were beautiful.

Today I felt so free! I need to start looking for a job again pronto, but I thought that today I would just let that go and feel joy at having finished my project. I took a long walk to Staples to get some binders for the manuscript, soaking up this amazing sunshiney day.

I browsed at Staples for a half hour, just looking at everything....I love office supplies! They are so sensual...

I had the thought that I would like to go to music school. It's an insane thought of course, but it carried such a deep charge that I took note of it.

Now a-playin': Indiscretion a solo album by the Green Pajamas' Jeff Kelly. So far, so good, more details to follow.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com