newest entry 2002-01-24 9:55 p.m.


Loose hips sink ships

When I first started taking yoga classes, about 10 years ago...goshers maybe more!...I found that my body didn't really start to sing until we did dhanurasana, the bow pose. After that, I felt transformed, and everything else in class was icing on the cake.

Nowadays I experience that with pigeon pose. Pigeon pose is a classic hip opening yoga asana that feels all wrong the first couple of times you do it. You think "my knee doesn't belong folded up under my chest like this," and you think maybe you're following the instructions wrong, but...no. That's how it goes.

It's come up many times this week in various classes I've taken, and consequently my hips feel really loose.

Why am I bringing this up? I have no idea. I can't think of anything interesting that's happened to me today, except that I ran for 40 minutes on the treadmill listening to Steve Miller, and realized that "Swingtown" is a better song than I remembered. I listened to "the Joker" twice in a row. I used to sing that song around the house when I was a little kid, much to the amusement of my older brother who always cracked up when I said, "I'm a toker."

Oh, and I played hooky from life in the middle of the day and watched Memento on DVD. And it, too, was better than I remembered. I feel I must place it near or at the top of my Best o' 2002 Movies List.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com