newest entry 2001-08-20 10:09 p.m.


An auspicious day--I saw my first live baseball game, The Brooklyn Cyclones vs. the Jersey Cardinals. Being a Jersey girl, I was a little torn, but I was loyal to my current homeboys. The game was less boring than I expected, although this particular game was a little unspectacular. It seems like everybody got walked...there were a large number of pitcher-induced injuries--is this normal?

It was John Franco night! we celebrated John Franco's genius in every possible way. John was presenterd with an oversized novelty check and a John Franco bobblehead doll.

The crowd was Robert Moses' worst nightmare: heterogenerous, the classes mingling. Old Navy, Gap, Banana Republic and Urban Outfitters together in one human mall of cheering and thumping.

I am getting patriotic in my dotage. I actually got choked up when we sang "The Star-Spangled Banner." The land of the free, home of the brave--that gets me every time.

Anyway, I was glad to experience this "first" and I look forward to the rest of the season.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com