newest entry 2001-10-03 9:11 p.m.


After Apple-picking

For I have had too much
Of apple-picking: I am overtired
Of the great harvest I myself desired.

Chicago is a beautiful city, and I had an interesting trip, but there is too much to tell here. Many lessons, a few profound moments. For the Illinoisians and Michiganians, we were the ambassadors from Ground Zero, telling our tales and our friends' tales.

For now, let me just say that the Van Gogh/Gauguin exhibit at the Chicago art institute is one of the most emotionally moving exhibits I've ever experienced...I can't recall ever having cried over a bunch of paintings before this, but there is something compelling and sad and so human-sized about the story of their friendship and rivalry. Go see it, or buy the book.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com