newest entry 2003-08-05 9:31 a.m.


When subjective feelings arrange your effort, and activity is obsessed with objects, the matter of your Self is neglected; not believing in true universal knowledge in oneself, you'll never attain true awakening.

--Chen-ching (trans. Thomas Cleary)


My subjective feelings every morning are, "I don't want to get up, let me sleep..." but I know I always have a better day when I get up early and go to the park with Coney, and/or go running, or take a morning yoga class.

My true universal Self needs that stuff, whereas my personal self just wants to escape. So, this morning I heeded the call of my Self and went for a run, and it was good.


I am finally reading The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. I count Michael Chabon as one of my all-time favorite writers, and I've owned the book since March, 2001, but I couldn't get past the first paragraph the few times I tried. I have no idea why.

Anyway, I'm enjoying it so far.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com