newest entry 2003-07-17 9:59 a.m.


From craving is born grief,

from craving is born fear.

For one freed from craving

there's no grief

--so how fear?

-Dhammapada 216, translated by Thanissaro Bhikkhu


I would like to use this vacation as a transition back to healthy livin'.

It was a pleasure bringing Coney to Monkey's office this morning--I enjoy seeing the look on people's faces when they see a dog where a person should be.

In book news, I started another Jane Langton novel. Langton, like Sparkle and Maggie E., writes "mysteries" wherein the whodunnit aspect is secondary to the character development, and there's all kindsa whimsy and drollery and philosophizin'.


Now I keep hearing that dratted "Soak Up the Sun" song in my head, except Sheryl is singing, "I am the antichri-ist...I am an anarchist..."

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com