newest entry 2003-07-10 9:50 a.m.


I finished Hex on the same day that I was told I'd be refunded for the copy that I bought on Amazon that never arrived. (The copy I read was from the library). Yay!

It was a good read, with some nice descriptions of race horses, ashtanga yoga, and Coney Island (although three separate uses of the adjective "Band-Aid colored," is excessive).

I liked the narrator--her eccentricities aren't over the top or cutesy, and I bought her unsentimental passion for horses and for classical music.

I'm slightly puzzled as to why this was marketed as a mystery, though. It really wasn't so much a mystery as a novel with a slightly surprising ending.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com