newest entry 2003-06-29 8:51 a.m.


About 4 years ago I was apartment-hunting in Brooklyn after having been evicted from my place (my landlord wanted to renovate). I looked at a really cute garden apartment on Dean Street in Park Slope, which somehow was in my price range.

There was a couple who came in after me to see the place, and I remarked to my boyfriend, "Wow, that's us in 10 years." I would characterize them as aging hipsters, looking a little long in the tooth, but decked out in their Domsey's finery.

Fast forward to yesterday. I was walking on Dean Street to get to the library and who is having a stoop sale? That couple! I introduced myself, bought a couple of paperbacks, and said, "Well, I guess you got the place!" Now they're moving back to the East Village.

Then last night we went to Barbes to hear some music, and they were there! So I chatted with them for a long time. They are really nice, garrulous and bouncy folks. We got each other's contact info, so hopefully we can stay in touch.


Slow cadence weight training, week two.

I am surprised and delighted how effective my lifting session was this week. I had all the energy that I have when I'm running regularly, and almost all the energy I have when I'm doing a lot of Bikram.

It's making me rethink the whole 30-minutes of cardio 5-days-a-week thing.

However, I don't think it's possible to do this kind of weight training without some kind of complementary stretching/flexibility program (like hatha yoga). The author of Slow Burn says you don't need it, but I personally find that I do.

I would never give up yoga anyway, of course, because the benefits go way beyond physical fitness.


Speaking of physical fitness, I bought my bathing suit for the summer. It's a purple 2-piece with charteuse trim. All I can say is: look out, world! Look the fuck out!

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com