newest entry 2003-06-27 1:45 p.m.


Played a show last night in Williamsburg. It was really sloppy but a heck of a lot of fun. Today I feel sleepy, happy, all wrung out in a good way.

Friday Five time!

1. How are you planning to spend the summer?

No special plans, although I am going to North Carolina mid-July for a first-ever vacation with my siblings, and in August, Monkey's dad is flying us out to Vegas.

2. What was your first summer job?

I worked at IBM in the mail room during the summer between sophomore and junior year. One of my duties was wrangling "Herbie" the mail-cart robot. He didn't look like a science fiction, anthropomorphized robot, sadly, he just looked like a mail truck with self-momentum. I worked in the mailroom every summer after that til college.

It pretty much created the template for what I've done for money since then: office building, air-conditioned, paperwork.

3. If you could go anywhere this summer, where would you go?

Somewhere where people live and play in igloos.

4. What was your worst vacation ever?

I haven't taken many vacations in my lifetime. As a kid: never. We never went away because we were broke and because my dad was xenophobic.

So, I'm pretty happy being able to go on vacation now, and I am easy to please.

5. What was your best vacation ever?

One of the best, and it ties in with another theme below, was a vacation I took to go to a college reunion. I wasn't that long out of school, but my alma mater, being all counter-cultural, has non-year-specific reunions for anyone who wants to come. It was just pure fun, and I remember enjoying a lot fo things about the school that I was too snobby to enjoy the first time around.


Two old college alumni attended my show last night. (On a whim, I'd alerted the alumni association and asked them to circulate my gig alert amongst NYC-area alums.) It was such a nice feeling. New College was such a special place, and there really is this bond between people who went there.

Ack--more later, I have to get back to work

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com