newest entry 2003-05-21 11:21 a.m.


If the first thing you think of in the morning when you wake up is God, then you are a monk.

--Brother David Steindl-Rast


And if the first thing you think about is a banana, well I think you know what you are.


Work situation from yesterday seems to have resolved itself in a satisfactory way. My boss was more annoyed at the IT people than at me (because the thing I neglected to do last week was caused by computer problems), although I don't like that I had to implicate the IT folks.

This morning I had to make a list of all the times a certain database was malfunctioning in the past two weeks, and what I worked on when I wasn't working in the downed databse. I can't remember what I had for lunch yesterday much less my exact comings-and-goings for the past two weeks.

My personal journal was actually an aid. There were days I even made note that "Argh, the database is down again!" so I was able to use that in my memo.

It felt like I was on trial, or being audited. But it also taught me to keep scrupulous notes from now on about what I do.

Anyway, it's over, and I feel better for having gone through it.


My amazing dogwalker got a real job for the summer, so I have to find someone new. At least she gave me 2 weeks notice and didn't just up and quit like the last one.


I have a new work buddy. It's someone who used to rehearse in the same space as my old band. We exchanged records, and his is really good! Very rockin' and tuneful.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com