newest entry


The Six Mistakes of Man:

  • The delusion that personal gain is made by crushing others.
  • The tendency to worry about things that cannot be changed or corrected.
  • Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it.
  • Refusing to set aside trivial preferences.
  • Neglecting development and refinement of the mind, and not acquiring the habit of reading and studying.
  • Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do.

    --Cicero


    All the stupid-ish mysteries I've read this winter have rotted out my mind, so I'm not ready for real fiction yet. In the interim, I'm reading The Alienist, which is poised halfway between literature and dopey best-seller. At least, it's chock-full of historical facts about New York, so it's like watching a Ric Burns documentary.


    I didn't get to watch Dan Rather's interview with Saddam Hussein tonight cuz I had a rehearsal, but I hope to find a transcript somewhere tomorrow on the worldwide internet.

    Rehearsal was fun. In essence, this gig tomorrow will be like the reunion of my old band, except without the fighting.


    I did, however, do my civic duty of faxing Washington...


    Now playing: Excerpts from a Love Circus by Lisa Germano, which I just got for a buck from Half.com. I haven't heard this since living with Lilith...I love Lisa G. I'm not sure why I stopped buying her records, but the sheer brilliance and beauty of this record reminds me I must find her new one.


    Something else, but I forget....

    previous entry

    next entry

    latest entry

    archive

    write to me

    hosted by DiaryLand.com


    powered by SignMyGuestbook.com