newest entry 2002-12-16 9:15 a.m.


I have made a tiny dent in my Unseen Classic Movie List by watching The Manchurian Candidate last night. And...it's the best movie ever!

Well, OK, Light of Day is still the b.m.e., but Candidate was really fun and clever. I love its almost breezy tone, and all the eagle/Abe Lincoln business.

Did you know that Angela Lansbury was only three years older than Laurence Harvey, who plays her son?

And The Chairman acquits himself well here, although he punches and runs like a girl.


The movie finished just before midnight, so M. and I waited breathlessly for word about the MTA strike. As you know, talks are still going on.

Grand Central Station was dead this morning--I guess a lot of people elected to stay home. Some people slept in their offices so they wouldn't be stuck in Brooklyn this morning.

My loyalties are divided: I'm pro-Union all the way, and yet I think a strike would be such a nasty fate to cast on this city.

I saw Mayor Bloomberg on a news show yesterday, discussing the strike. The most shocking revelation from the interview was how much he reminds me of this guy.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com