newest entry 2002-12-13 2:06 p.m.


What is the first song you remember hearing? One of my first memories, period, is hearing "Have You Ever Seen the Rain?" on the radio and feeling deliciously glum, even though I didn't understand what Fogerty was singing (much less what the lyrics were about). "I Never Promised You a Rose Garden" is another ancient and primal song from my mind-vault.

But the question that lurks in the back of my mind, especially now that I think every plane ride is going to be the last, is what the last song of my life will be.

Actually, this question occurred to me about 10 years ago, when I was riding in my then-boyfriend's Econoline on an icy night. We almost had an accident, and I remember thinking how awful it would have been if the song playing on the radio were to be the last thing I ever heard in this world.

And speaking of songs, I have to amend my comments about Mia Doi Todd's record. I don't know why I thought there were a lot of pianos on the record--there are some, and I must have been focussing on them while writing. But anyway, it's mostly acoustic guitars, some percussion and her strong folky voice. Herein lies the problem for me, though: aside from some slightly Cobainian chord changes, and the arty lyrics, this is basically folk music, and kinda humorless folk music at that. I have no grudge against folk music, but I don't seek it out. Sometimes it comes for me in the night, but I don't choose it. Anyway, there are times when Todd's voice sounds like a dead ringer for Melanie. And, dude, if I want to listen to that kind of thing, I'd prefer the original.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com