newest entry 2002-09-26 9:18 a.m.


We had our anniversary dinner at a steak house called The Embers in Bay Ridge. Through the lazy magic of pop culture reference I can describe it and its clientele in one word: Vesuvio.

Monkey had a T-bone steak (Coney, later, got the spoils of it) and I had Filet Mignon, and we downed a bottle of nice red wine (I forget the make). We finished up with a brownie sundae at Omonia Cafe, which we were stunned to discover is not a little storefront bakery as we had always thought, but a rather huge cafe with outdoor seating in the back and a thriving night business.


Lying Awake, as it turns out, is exactly the book I need to be reading right now. It mirrors almost perfectly the conflicts and doubts I've been having these days vis a vis religion, spirituality, and the body. And it's beautifully written, as all Mark Salzman's books are.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com