newest entry 2002-05-26 9:29 a.m.


If we single-pointedly practice great compassion, then, with little effort, we will be able to gain all other virtues.

--Geshe Namgyal Wangchen, Awakening the Mind


Turns out that Monkey's co-worker Dickie and my friend Nan live within spittin' distance of each other in Morningside Heights. We met them up there last night for dinner at the teeee-riffic A. It's a tiny place that serves French/Caribbean cuisine at ridiculously low prices. The wait staff is very friendly, which you have to be in such a cozy intimate place.

We were joined by FilmThreat and FredCDobbs, and I enjoyed the blend of personalities. We yakked about the books, the movies, the devil's music. I was the only one at the table who hadn't seen Mulholland Drive, and now I feel compelled, given the overwhelmingly positive feedback.

Afterwards, we settled at a back table at the Ding Dong Lounge. I like it--I endorse any bar where they play punk instead of that awful techno stuff.

I love Memorial Day Weekend, when it feels like we have the whole city to ourselves.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com