newest entry 2002-05-10 11:07 p.m.


Went to the Met today with Mom-in-law and my Dad to see a comprehensive exhibit of Orazio and Artemisia Gentileschi's paintings. Melodramatic Biblical tableaux in chiaroscuro! Jesus in medieval clothing! I wanted to lick the paintings. I guess that's wrong. On the way out we breezed through a whole gallery of lonely Rembrandts with no other patrons in sight. I had to stop and pay respects.

We had dinner at Trattoria dell'Arte. My Dad was tipsy on his two annual wine spritzers, and we had a jolly time. He and my Mom-in-Law get along really well; they are similarly zany. My dad and I get along well these days, too--we always manage to stay in the fun zone when we hang out. No "you gave me a rotten childhood" baggage, cuz there just isn't any more time for that.

Monkey joined us, and we went to see Elaine Stritch's one-woman show. The important thing was that the oldsters liked it, but boy I was checking my watch every 5 seconds. If your idea of a good time is watching some 76-year-old boozy crone mincing around onstage in just a shirt and black stockings, then you'll love it. I spent the whole time worrying she was gonna fall down and break her hip.

previous entry

next entry

latest entry

archive

write to me

hosted by DiaryLand.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com